“Eat with me” by Elaine Kelly

Posted on Updated on

Congratulations to Elaine Kelly for receiving and honorable mention for her poem, “Eat with me.”

Elaine Margaret Kelly of Montana was born to missionary parents in December of 1993. She fears blushing, wasting time, and being a fraud. She is a friend, a confidant, a lover of slow music and other romantic things.

Eat with me

Eat with me. I’ll treat you to some cultivated supper.
Swallow soft. Forget your piling plans and eat with me, cure meat with me, spill coffee- beans and sing with me.
Rest your tired thighs. I’ll pull a chair for you, sip kitchen chai.
Child, eat with me. I’ll stir and whisk and sift through cupboard seasonings.
Sit still, I’ll scrub the dirt out of the creases in the garden bits.
I’ll stop to let you cry into my dying plant.
I’ll feed you with a gilded spoon. I’ll hold your heavy crown to set you gentle on the tiled ground. We’ll twist our skinny arms together.
Waltz behind cold windows where I planted flowers in the concrete portico.
Eat of it, eat all of you. I’ll feed you my own calf undressed and hoisted high above a hungry congregation, leave the dishes for the morning.

Leave a Reply

