Honorable Mention: “Not In My House” by William Matross

Posted on Updated on

Not in my house,” mom slammed her hand down against the counter for added effect, rattling the stoneware. Her smoker’s-tenor peaked on the word, “my,” reminding me I was not the one that made decisions in the house. After all, I was fourteen and a freshman at Helena High School. “You are not bringing that Satanic bullshit into my house.” Her voice peaked again, this time emphasizing “bullshit” and “my.”

Continue reading Not In My House

Leave a Reply

